Are you on Twitter?

via goodinblogging.blogspot.com

I’ve been on Twitter since March 6, 2010. That’s 2 years, 7 months and 6 days if you were counting.

I’m a heavy Twitter user. I have over 56,000 tweets and I average over 120 tweets per day. I use Twitter as my source for news and information, but it also provides me with nice and easy access to my friends and family.

As a journalist, if you don’t have one, I’d highly recommend that you sign up. Right now.

Fore more information on what Twitter is click here.

With limited space in 140 characters, tweets are essentially status updates/breaking news reports/short snippets of stories and news from all over the world. It doesn’t stop there, though.

Twitter is poetry, movie reviews, conversations, gossip and whatever you can think of. Yes, of course, there is always spam.

For reporters and journalists, Twitter is speed and access all in one. Twitter is ideal for fast news, in a time when being first is as vital as getting the information. News companies all over the U.S. use the site to post everything they can think of. Nothing is left out.

The problem with Twitter now is that not everyone uses it. Twitter is journalist-heavy.

I can’t definitively say that Twitter “works” in any meaningful way. It all depends on how you use it. As a journalist, it’s nice to have access to our fellow colleagues, but we always try to get to our readers in the communities we cover. It’s tough, but we make it work.

Reporters today, young and old, are being required to tweet, with some having a “quota” of tweets each day.

Tweets are now coming from all kinds of events, including sporting events, speeches and even regular town meetings. Twitter has become an integral part of how many newspapers get their news out. It’s not uncommon for newspapers to have many more followers than their actual circulations. It’s just the way things are now.

Twitter can get serious, too. It can be whatever a journalist or newspaper wants it to be. It’s hard to keep up with it, at times.

No matter what you use Twitter for, it’s a priceless service. It’s led me to get even deeper into local, state and national politics, by putting me on the campaign trails with pool reporters. It’s allowed me to travel overseas to the Middle East and China with news and updates. And it’s also allowed me to track and see what the community I live in and work in is talking about.

It’s easy for me to say that my days start and end with Twitter.

Twitter is a vital tool in our time and I recommend you sign up now, if you haven’t already. If you are addicted to news, I guarantee you won’t regret it. And even if you aren’t addicted to news, I think you’d appreciate the rest of what Twitter has to offer you.

Give it a shot.

Jonathan

Leave a Reply

