Have Fun

via threecreeksarabians.com

I’m from Vernon, Conn., and I still live there today. The closest thing I have to  farm near my home is a couple of horses about a mile from my house. That’s about it.

Since I started at the Chronicle, I’ve begun to visit more and more farms.

It took me a long time to get used to them. It’s not everyday that you are stepping around cow pies and talking to farmers in Vernon.

It’s a nice change of pace, though.

With any job, you’ll learn and experience new things on a daily basis. The trick is to have fun while you are working.

I think I’ve gotten pretty good at that. It relieves the tension, for yourself and your photographer (if one is with you), and it also eases the farmer giving you the tour of their farm. It doesn’t matter what you use to do that, either.

I usually just play dumb and ask a million questions. I’ve been to more dairy farms than others and they are simply astounding with how much work, time and expertise that goes into each day. The farmers, who usually have been doing this their entire lives, are more than willing to talk about what they do, how they do it and what it’s like.

I’m not a cowboy, by any means, and I don’t especially like the smell of farms, but they are a blast. I wish I could remember how many I’ve been to, but it escapes me.

Each one is better than the last, too.

The point of this post is to have fun with what you are doing. Yes, your job comes first, but if you can have a bit of fun and get out of the office for an hour or two, do it. You won’t regret it and you’ll learn a thing or two, while you’re out there.

Jonathan

Leave a Reply

