Muck Rack

A screen shot of my new profile

I had seen Muck Rack before, but I didn’t know exactly what it was. I think I had tried to get verified earlier this month, but I can’t remember for sure. My friend Mike Walsh told me this past Friday that he had gotten verified, so, I had to make sure I did, too.

It only took the weekend to get verified and I’ve been obsessed ever since.

With my new profile (seen above) Muck Rack gives journalists and others an insight into the professional journalism world that I don’t think has existed before.

From its website:

By verifying the journalists on social media who do the muckraking for major media outlets and analyzing what they say in real time, Muck Rack delivers a glimpse of tomorrow’s newspaper to you today.

I’ve already gotten addicted to it. I’ve uploaded several clips, added my blog and updated my bio. The page highlights each of my tweets, while giving me access to all of the journalists that are already on the site. It’s something I wish I had invented.

Free for journalists, the site has over 10,000 different journalists. That’s incredible. I really had no idea this existed and I’m glad Mike found it.

If you are a journalist, I highly recommend that you get verified and involved. I don’t think I’ve even brushed the surface with this post.

I get a daily e-mail and I can see every registered journalists tweets, with whatever links they send, among other things.

I know I’ll be looking to find other journalists across the country, but I’d like to find more in Connecticut, too.

If anything, just give it a shot and check it out. You won’t be disappointed.

If you are addicted to Twitter and news, this is like a candy store.

Jonathan

One Response to Muck Rack

  1. Pingback: What You Should Be Reading 2/23 | Just Starting Out

Leave a Reply

