Where are You Going?

Knowing where you have to go is key. It’s one less thing to worry about and it’s really helpful to know the area your paper covers.

Please don’t buy one of these.

I’ve used the Google Maps app on my iPhone a million times and it’s gotten me where I need to go. I will be the first to admit that I, usually, have an idea of where I’m going. Sometimes, when I’m in Chaplin, Eastford or Ashford, I need some help.

The towns we cover aren’t heavily populated, but in road miles they are pretty big.

Before I leave for anything I put the address, or general location, into my “GPS,” to find out where I’m going. It pays to not be trying to figure it all out while you are driving, too.

Arriving early is something I take pride in and it’s a good habit to get into.

I’m not saying get there an hour early, but 10-15 minutes should be just fine.

With Apple’s new iOS6, there have been many, many problems with Apple Maps. (Google Maps is no more)  I still have yet to install the new operating system for that reason alone. I’m more than comfortable with my Google Maps app and I trust it.

Talking with @matthewclyburn, he pointed me to Waze, a user friendly, talking GPS app. It’s free and so far, I’ve been in love with it. I’ve had no problems with it and I encourage anyone to, at least, give it a shot. The above screen shot is from my iPhone using the app, to show how it looks and how simple it is.

Waze doesn’t end there. It’s a social network with a GPS built in. You can share police traps, road reports on accidents or other problems on the road easily, in real-time. I’m doing a terrible job of explaining it and I hope you check it out.

You do have to sign up for the app, but I have yet to receive any e-mails or promotional type messages in the last couple of weeks.

Jonathan

Leave a Reply

