I Miss Budget Season

via pittsboronc.gov

I miss the number crunching, mill rate increases and the encumbered expenses, among other things. Summer was tough, at times, and I struggled a bit.

Stories weren’t always easy to come by.

Budget season has you writing so much more than summer time. It’s almost as if you are writing for a whole different paper. There are features still, but the writing is mostly hundreds of numbers swirling around.

I’d compare it to winning the lottery. You can go to one meeting and you end up with four or five stories because there are so many ideas, numbers and strategies going on. I

Thankfully, budget season starts up again soon. If school boards aren’t doing so already, they will soon start getting their budgets together for their towns. It’s an exciting time for journalists and, frankly, is a huge responsibility of all the boards and commissions, as well. Not all of my coworkers enjoy it, I’m sure.

Going to budget workshops and watching these volunteers figure out these gigantic budgets is mesmerizing to me. It’s a lot of hard work and a lot of their time. I know that sounds weird, but it’s really quite exciting.

It’s not always happy times, as many departments and districts see their budgets get cut each and every year. And with that comes the emotion and passion to add to the stories.

It’s an exciting time and I’m looking forward to going through another season with my towns. It will not disappoint.

Jonathan

3 Responses to I Miss Budget Season

  1. Pingback: Story of the Week 10/13 « Just Starting Out

  2. Pingback: Sports Writing Wasn’t For Me « Just Starting Out

  3. Pingback: the upcoming budget season « Just Starting Out

Leave a Reply

