Better Days

Friday morning was not my best.

I don’t know if I put my guard down or what, but I definitely missed a step.

Everything was fine until my front page story got to Charlie, the head editor, for editing.

I don’t know what I was thinking, but I completely messed up some numbers/percentages on a story. Charlie, thankfully, pointed it all out.  I made some calls to find out what was wrong and worked with him to fix it.

What’s the problem here? >>> The paper was late because of me. I freaked out for a second, but Charlie and I took our time to make sure it was all okay. I appreciated all of the help, but I felt terrible about keeping the paper from going to the presses.

Looking back on it now, I have no idea why I missed it (it was simple addition and getting a percentage). I apologized profusely to Charlie who was, honestly, much calmer than I would have been if I was him.

Not 10 minutes after that debacle, a call came over the scanner for the above accident. No one had life threatening injuries, but the Pontiac was totaled.

I rushed out of the office to get to the scene. I parked nearby, in this case right across the street, and walked over. Thankfully, the officers recognized me and let me take my pictures.

The officers only yelled at me once. One of the officers had to make sure his hat was on before I started taking pictures. I, of course, obliged and made sure to wait. I took over 30 pictures and I’m happy with my work.

I’ve never seen a car crumple like that yet. It looked pretty bad.

When I got back to the office, Mike thanked me for hustling out to the scene. I wrote my brief and left for the day. I still feel bad about holding the paper. It’s not a good feeling.

Jonathan

2 Responses to Better Days

  1. Sounds like it was a honest mistake and your boss sounds very understanding. Instead of feeling bad about it, learn from it and move on.

Leave a Reply

