What to Wear

via swungover.wordpress.com

I do not wear ties to work. If I had to I would, but for right now I don’t.

I would classify our dress code as business casual. I wear a nice pair of jeans, boat shoes and a collared shirt each day. Sometimes the collared shirt is a button up and sometimes it’s just a nice polo. They don’t freak out here if you dress down, either.

For my interview, I probably looked the best I’ve ever looked. Still not wearing a tie, I had some nice dress pants and long sleeve button up shirt with some dress shoes.

Always look good for your interviews. It may be a pain in the ass to dress up, but you’ll thank me later. It really helps to look professional and responsible on a first impression. No one likes a slob. And as much as everyone says they don’t, people do judge you by how you look.

If you aren’t sure what to wear, ask. I had to ask Mike what everyone usually wears. I wasn’t embarrassed to ask. I really wanted to know what was acceptable. I dug in my inbox to find part of his response:

“Just don’t be slobby and you’ll be OK (i.e. sweatpants and sandals — though the sports department tends to do that in the morning since they mostly work nights.)”

If I know I’m going to interview someone on a particular day I’ll make sure what I’m wearing is appropriate. If I know I’m going to run home after deadline and wait for my meeting I’ll dress a bit casual. It’s really common sense for wherever you are going.

Being business casual at work helps a lot. It’s nice to be comfortable at work. I don’t know how guys can wear ties every day. I really don’t know. I think I own a couple of ties, but I couldn’t tell you how to tie one. (I should probably know how to do that by now)

Don’t stress about what to wear. It’s something you will get used to.

Jonathan

One Response to What to Wear

  1. opiningquill says:

    Like a book being judged by the cover you are making an impression each time you are seen on the job. You never know the bias you may face or the sudden assignment that my come your way. Making it a practice of putting your best foot forward everyday is like insurance you may not need it today but when you do you are covered.

Leave a Reply

