There is no Procrastinating

via chicagonow.com

Procrastination: to put off intentionally and habitually

In college, I procrastinated more than I’d like to admit. It was a part of life. I was working part-time, going to school full-time and, for my last semester, working as the news editor for The Recorder.

I was busy and I let a lot of things fall through the cracks. I knew the whole time what I was doing, but, being my last semester, I slacked off quite a bit.

Nowadays, that’s impossible. If a story isn’t finished “today,” it’s due the next day. End of story. If you say it’ll be done, it has to be done.

Editors don’t care your car broke down or if you didn’t sleep the night before. The expectation is there because this is your JOB. It’s nothing like school. You have to be on your “A-game” the entire time. If you are sick, that’s a different story. (I have yet to call in sick yet- knock on wood)

There are no “extensions” in the journalism world. Unless a source refuses to talk to you, the story must be done. If you are easily distracted, bring headphones.

I’ve learned that it’s better to do things ahead of time, rather then waiting for deadline to catch up to you. Planning ahead is key here. If you already know what you are going to write about tomorrow, why not start it today? What do you have to lose. If you are going to be in the office, keep yourself busy and focused.

Plus, the busier you are during the day, the faster your days will go. Trust me, it works.

I highly recommend NOT waiting until the last minute to do things. It’ll come back to bite you. I can promise you that. All it takes is one thing to go wrong to have a story fall through.

Waiting until the last minute gets to be a habit. It’s the same thing with being organized. It’s better to take the time NOW to get everything situated and done, then to wait until the next day. You’ll thank me later.

Do I struggle with this now? Of course I do. Some days you want to write every little story and other days you just want to get home and watch The Office on Netflix while eating PBJ sandwiches.

Some days are tougher than others, but that’s life. I’m not in college anymore. I’m working full-time at a daily newspaper.

What’s my way of fighting this? My routine/schedule. It works for me.

Jonathan

One Response to There is no Procrastinating

  1. Pingback: Plan for Holidays | Just Starting Out

Leave a Reply

