Feeling the Stress

via codigodiamante.com

Yesterday was pretty intense. I’ve talked about stress before, including here and here, but yesterday morning was perfect for a post.

I really was off my game yesterday. I’m not really sure why. I don’t know if I was distracted or if I couldn’t concentrate. Now, it doesn’t matter, but, at some point, I’d like to know why.

I usually don’t have stories come back, but I had three come back in the same morning. The questions weren’t hard, but with deadline already passed it wasn’t easy. I definitely freaked out a bit.

When bad things happen, they happen all at once, with no warning.

Two of the stories were for page one, the other had to be held because we ran out of time and space. That’s a really empty feeling, but back to the morning.

I had to call a bunch of people back, after deadline, to get the information the stories needed. One story was an easy fix, but the second one required a lot more work and a few annoying phone calls to some town hall employees.

Writing these stories over the past two days, I edited them a couple of times and I thought they were okay. They weren’t.

I left out information crucial to each story. I don’t know if I was distracted or not, but I definitely wasn’t happy with my writing yesterday morning. I don’t have an excuse. It was on me.

The paper was late yesterday for a number of reasons, with one of them being my copy.

Reading this, it may sound harsh to some of you that I’m taking it this hard. I don’t see it that way. When there’s only three reporters and a couple of editors we all know what we have to do. We know that things have to be right, on time and the paper cannot be late. Yesterday was tough.

I was able to fix each story and get it out. I was definitely feeling the pressure, but I’m still alive to blog about it. It wasn’t the worst day and it won’t be the last of days like that. It’s just how it works.

Yesterday makes me thing of this post, where I basically said there are good days and bad days.

Lately, there have been a lot of good days. I need to realize that each day is different and  maybe I was due for a bad day? I don’t know.

It’s all just more to work on.

Jonathan

Leave a Reply

