It’s Not about the Cash

I have to thank Kyle for yesterday’s guest post. I really appreciated his honesty about what he experienced during his time as a journalist.

I have to say that I disagreed with some of what Kyle said, though.

“I lacked the work ethic, professionalism, and quite frankly, talent that the job required.”

Kyle is quite capable of writing and, honestly, I’m not that talented myself.

But journalism takes patience and a willingness to keep on practicing. But, that all comes with a work ethic. It’s crucial to getting better. And without putting in the work to get better, your copy won’t get better. Kyle realized how much work goes into getting better and “perfecting” writing for journalism. I cannot blame him for avoiding this career path.

Like I said after Tom‘s post, journalism isn’t for everyone. Kyle got his “taste” of it and decided it wasn’t for him. But journalism and writing are two different things. Kyle is a great writer, as we all saw yesterday.

“At times I miss journalism. But I know it’s not for me.”

I completely respect Kyle’s decision on that, but I expect him to either start a blog or a website where he can write freely, without the confines of being a journalist. He should!

I’d like to think that Kyle misses writing, in general. I myself, already writing full-time, use this blog to keep me busy while documenting what I’m doing on a daily and weekly basis. But this blog is also another avenue for me to keep writing.

I have never said this before, but I didn’t choose to be a journalist for the money. Kyle definitely makes more money than me. I don’t doubt that. Anyone with Internet access can find exactly what we make from the Occupational Outlook Handbook (via the Bureau of Labor Statistics of the U.S. Department of Labor).

The median annual wage of broadcast news analysts was $54,140 in May 2010. The median wage is the wage at which half the workers in an occupation earned more than that amount and half earned less. The lowest 10 percent earned less than $27,560, and the top 10 percent earned more than $146,230.

The median annual wage of reporters and correspondents was $34,530 in May 2010. The lowest 10 percent earned less than $19,970, and the top 10 percent earned more than $75,230.

It’s not about the money. It’s about informing people. It’s about understanding the issues and what’s at stake.

It’s all about passion and hard work.

Jonathan

2 Responses to It’s Not about the Cash

  1. Pingback: It’s Not about the Bylines « Just Starting Out

  2. Pingback: A Chromebook You Say? | Just Starting Out

Leave a Reply

