I Need a Scanner

via djournal.com

After what happened this week, I really think I should invest in a handheld scanner.

So far, I have my sights set on this by Uniden. If the name seems familiar, they make house phones, radios and video surveillance equipment, too.

What’s stopping me? The price for one thing. Spending over $150 on something is something that I don’t take lightly. It’s not as much as an iPad, but it’s still quite a bit. I really think I do need one, though.

I am already relying on my phone and camera, why not add another gadget?

Our newsroom has it’s own scanner, but I can’t just take that with me wherever I go. I want to have all of our towns hooked up to one scanner, so I won’t miss anything.

One of our photographers, Al, has one in his truck. I don’t think he’s ever turned it off. With what happened this week, I was at the scene early and I was able to follow it as it progressed. I didn’t have to call a bunch of people up on Wednesday because I had seen and heard what I needed to know. If I had had a scanner things would have been much easier. I would have already known what was going on and where everything was.

I really think that’s a benefit of being at the scene. You can smell, see and hear what’s going on around you. You can find someone to talk to and ask them questions. It’s a lot different than making 30 phone calls the next morning.

Yeah, all the news today is on Facebook and Twitter, but doesn’t it start on the scanner?

Breaking news stories always lead the paper. The accident a couple weeks ago, the fire last week and the incident this week all were above the fold on page one. Breaking news, if it’s good enough, can bump any story. Well, not every story, but you know what I mean.

I really don’t think I have to justify this purchase. I live in a busy town anyway, it could be fun to just listen in and hear what’s going on. Wouldn’t you do the same?

I’m just worried about if I’m going to be able to figure out how to use it.

Jonathan

Leave a Reply

