Finding Your Own Way

I have to thank Tom for yesterday’s guest post. I’ve known him a long time and I’m glad we’ve kept in touch. He’s a great friend.

I do wish Tom stayed in journalism. I really do. He’s a great writer/editor and is quite good with video editing. I think he could easily make the transition to being a mobile journalist. But, like Tom said, he’s never branded himself a journalist. Knowing what I know now about the field, Tom would be perfect for it. I mean, I am always creating!

I completely respect that his decisions, though. We all change our minds. We all find our own way. No one has the same path as the person next to them. My dreams aren’t Tom’s dreams. And being in classes with Tom for so long, I just expected him to turn into a journalist.

I also expected myself to be a mechanical engineer, look where that got me.

When I say Tom is well on his way, I mean it. His abilities to help people understand video/sound editing and creation is unparalleled. In my mind, he’s a magician. I could use those skills. Tom can you help me?!

His podcast, “Lateral Moves,” is amazing. I’d recommend it to anyone. Though, at times, it is a bit NSFW. It’s

My point is we need to do what’s best for ourselves.

My journey to where I am today didn’t come without doubt. My field is literally changing daily and it’s something I’m still getting used to. And like what Tom hinted at, you have to find your passion. For anyone that reads this blog they know what I like to do. Now that I’m here, I have no doubts. I may do some soul-searching here and there, but I have that fire for this field.

Changing your mind is okay. We all do it. We just have to make sure we do it for ourselves. Don’t settle for something you know you won’t be happy with.

I don’t expect my journey to be the same for everyone. I hope my blog makes you think about where you are today and helps you in whatever it is you want to do. I mean, not only do you get to read about my mistakes, but you get to “see” me react to the things around me while I’m finding my way in this field called journalism.

Jonathan

Leave a Reply

