Lead Writing Woes

via law.uconn.edu

I’ve talked about this many times before, but I want to keep track of how I’m doing with my leads.

My boss, Mike, knows that I have no problem if he changes them. I told him that when he interviewed me. Most of the time, for the “bigger” stories, we go through them together. It helps me think about what he’s looking for and how I should mimic that.

Sometimes, I’ll just ask him what he’s thinking the lead is on a certain story (mostly for breaking news) and we’ll go with that.

My news leads are usually okay. I read my stories when the reporters get their copies of the paper, right after we go to press, to check. Hard news doesn’t really give flexible leads. I really like news leads, for that reason.

I’m using some tricks to help me, but I haven’t seen the progress that I am expecting from myself.

I need to figure out how to be more creative in my approach. Not every feature is the same and I have to treat them like that. I can’t just put a passive/crappy lead on a story that I worked hard on.

I try to have fun with some of them, by going outside my comfort zone. It rarely works, though.

I have to keep at it and keep working. Lead writing is the area of my writing that needs the biggest improvement. Even though I joke about it, I really want to get better at it.

I’d just like to see my hard work pay off faster.

Jonathan

One Response to Lead Writing Woes

  1. Pingback: Lead Writing 11 Months In « Just Starting Out

Leave a Reply

