Do I really need an iPad?

via technobuffalo.com

I have always wanted an iPad. You can ask anyone close to me to verify that, but they won’t say otherwise.

It’s not something I need. I already have a Macbook Pro 13″ and an iPhone 8GB. I just want an iPad.

I  have never really done a pros/cons list in my head as to why I don’t actually need one, but I thought this could be a fun and lighthearted way of telling myself that I really don’t need one.

Will I actually have the time to use it?

This argument can go one of two ways, right off the bat. I am typing this from my laptop, but, if I had an iPad, would I be able to do it from there? I really do love my laptop. It’s fast, light and gets the job done. And I’ve never had a problem with my Macbook. I don’t even want to imagine how hard it would be to edit a post this size with an iPad.

Typing on some glass, with a full keyboard seems a bit silly when my posts average almost 400+ words each. I don’t think I would have the patience to sit and blog each day with my iPad. I know I would watch Netflix on it, but that’s about it. I have DVDs that I watch endlessly, but they already play just fine on my laptop.

I can’t really use the “I’m a journo who needs an iPad” excuse either (I may have just made that up). I wouldn’t bring my iPad to the scene of an accident or anything. I have my phone for that.

I would definitely use it for  video games, but I don’t really spend a lot of my free time doing nothing. I don’t think I can say that I will actually have the free time to use it. I already bring my laptop everywhere I go, work included. I make sure my work is done and my laptop has been quite reliable.

Do I have the money?

With everything that I want (iPad with Wi-Fi 32GB – Black (3rd generation) it will cost me about $1,000. I do have that money. But I have to think about it with how much I make, as well. The cars in my family aren’t getting any younger and my Dad just lost his job, so times aren’t exactly great right now. Is it worth it? I don’t know. A thousand bucks is a lot of money.

Sitting here now and typing this, I really don’t think it’s worth it. It seems silly that it could cost that much money. I could always do a refurbished one, but a Refurbished iPad 2 with Wi-Fi+3G 32GB – White – Verizon (2nd Gen.)  would cost me $500 alone, without everything extra that I would want with it. But even then I’m spending about $700- $800. That’s still a lot of money. This is tough.

Like everyone else, I work hard for my money. I’m not just going to let it go that easily.

Game Over

Unless you can come up with some reasons as to why I should get one, I’m done. No more asking from me. It’s just not worth it. I had more questions to post on, but I’ll leave it at this. It just doesn’t make sense. Of course, I still would like one, but it’s not right for me.

Jonathan

One Response to Do I really need an iPad?

  1. Pingback: I Need a Scanner « Just Starting Out

Leave a Reply

