Take it One Day at a Time

via TIMVANdotCOM

I can’t ever remember a professor telling me the job of being a journo isn’t stressful. When I was in school, I never really thought about the pressure or stress that could come with the job. I guess I wasn’t that forward thinking.

I have to say I cannot blame any of my former professors for not trying to “prepare” me for what I am doing now. How do you? I bet someone has written a book on it somewhere.

If you haven’t already, take a minute to really think about what you are getting yourself into. It’s fun don’t get me wrong, but it’s chaotic, too. People will yell at you, sources and editors. People will call and complain about things you didn’t get wrong. You will be put to your limits with deadline writing. It will tear you down, at times, too. Unfortunately for me, I love it. It’s a thrill and I wouldn’t have it any other way. You can’t take anything to heart.

I’ve learned a lot so far. One of those lessons is to take it easy. Yes, the job is stressful. Yes, it can be overwhelming. But you have to take it all in stride. If you messed up, learn from your mistake and move on. This isn’t rocket science. We all have our bad days. The trick is to be able to come in the next day and do it all over again.

Be hard on yourself, but don’t set unrealistic goals. Set the goals that you can really strive for and complete.

Some days you will be on cloud nine and on others you will wish you never got out of bed. With being a journo, you have to realize that anything can happen. And as shitty as today was, tomorrow could be worse.

There’s a difference between working too hard and being the best journo you can be. You need to eat and you need to sleep. It doesn’t hurt to take a night off from meetings and work to have some “you” time. It will help you not only relax, but help you get your head straight. There’s nothing worse than not being focused on deadline for whatever reason. Your work will suffer and your editors will notice. And they won’t be happy.

How do I manage my stress? You are reading my therapy right now. It’s simple, easy and quick. I can wind-down from work and put my thoughts on the this thing called the Internet. It’s fun, keeps me out of trouble and other people like to read it.

Take advantage of a hobby or whatever you like to do. You are going to need it.

Jonathan

3 Responses to Take it One Day at a Time

  1. Pingback: Feeling the Stress « Just Starting Out

  2. Pingback: Story of the Week 9/9 « Just Starting Out

  3. Pingback: Readers’ Feedback « Just Starting Out

Leave a Reply

