It’s Your Cellphone Number

via geekologie.com
-I hope people get this Tommy Tutone reference-

Never give your cellphone number out. I promise you will not regret it. It will be one of the smartest decisions you will ever make. I hope I’m not the only journo to have made this mistake

A Google search gave me nothing on this topic. Am I the lone journo who thinks this is a bad idea?

When I first started, I thought it was a common practice to leave my cellphone number to a source in a voice mail. I never thought twice about it. It was probably no more than 10 times.

A fellow reporter, who had overheard me give out my number several times told me that it was a bad idea. I brushed it off like they didn’t know what they were saying.

No one ever abused the use of my cellphone number, but I realized how dangerous that can be. By dangerous, I mean people calling at all hours of the day and night asking me questions about stories. It would be a worst case scenario and, honestly, I am surprised it never happened.

Looking back, I would slap my naive self in the face for even thinking about doing that. I can’t believe I used to think that was a good idea. I did it at CCSU while I was a reporter there. I never made a call from our office, so I would only give out my cell phone. I guess, I can blame it on that.

All it takes is that one story that a source may not like and they can “turn” on you. Some sources think that you will only write the fluff pieces about their town, but, in reality, you can’t. If there’s an arrest of a town official, you have to write that. If there’s a bullying case, you have to write that. The list goes on, of course.

Remember to think twice about what you are doing. If you have doubts, take a step back and “edit” the situation.

Or, if anything, keep reading my blog so you don’t make the same mistakes that I have.

Jonathan

Leave a Reply

