Be Thankful

via carolinafamilyalliance.com (don’t ask)

I don’t usually talk about my family and friends on this blog. It never occured to me until this past week.

I won’t dwell on this first part, but bear with me. My father was fired this week.

My mother gave me the heads up via a text before he got home. He was beside himself. I calmed him down and he just let everything out.

I had a hard time keeping myself together that day, but that’s what family is for. We are there for each other, no matter what. And it’s not even family, it’s the people in our “inner circle.” You know who I mean. We all have a small group of people that we confide in. We know they are always there, through the good times and, more importantly, the bad.  Do we even think twice about that?

I think I lost sight of that for a bit. I don’t know why and I don’t know when, but I know that I started to take all of the people close to me for granted. I don’t know about you, but, to me, that sounds just plain terrible.

It doesn’t matter what type of work we are doing. We all need that support group around us. Working full-time is stressful. Even when we love our jobs, it takes a toll on us. We all may not like to admit it, but it’s true.

I’ve done many things I’m not proud of. We all have. But our friends and families continue, time after time, to forgive us and love us. We need to keep those people close. We need to keep them in our thoughts.

Make an effort to thank the people closest to you.

Jonathan

2 Responses to Be Thankful

  1. Pingback: Do I really need an iPad? « Just Starting Out

  2. Pingback: There’s A Lot To Be Thankful For « Just Starting Out

Leave a Reply

