Insert Idea Here

I have to thank  @MatthewClyburn for guest posting this week. He’s a great friend and an even better writer/editor. I’m hoping he continues to blog on a regular basis, with more guest postings in the future.

Like Matt said, some days you will hit that wall, where you have no ideas. We all dread it. It’s something each of us prepares for, but it’s inevitable.

I have to admit that I had to scramble yesterday. Some stories I had fell through and I had to respond accordingly. It wasn’t ideal, but that’s life. I’m dreading the day I have nothing to come up with. And, again, like Matt said, you panic. I panicked for a bit yesterday. Thankfully, I caught myself.

We should all take a lesson from Matt. It helps to take a step back and realize what we are doing and what we need/want to write about. Reporter or blogger, we all have bad days and we all still have to write.

For me, I have never taken a shower, or read a chapter of a great novel to get a story idea. I will have to try it! I do talk to my mom a lot, though. When I have a brain fart, I usually do push-ups or blog. Now, that’s not really possible while I’m at work, so I have one alternative: iTunes.

I listen to as much music as I can, at work. It’s usually Saosin or Underoath. The music cuts the distractions out and helps me to focus. Having a working press not 20 feet from your desk isn’t ideal, but the music does a great job of cutting through. I’m usually pretty good about blocking out noises, but sometimes there’s nothing you can do. You just have to work through it.

I think Matt’s goal with his piece was to get you to think outside the box. If you truly are stuck, you will have to think differently than you normally do. You’ll have to go against a habit or your preferred way of doing something to get the job done. It’s not practical, but the stories or posts won’t write themselves. In that moment, it may not be the end of the world.

That’s all up to you.

Jonathan

Leave a Reply

