The Realities of Working in a Newsroom

I know that I am still new to this “game,” but I think I have a pretty good idea of how working in a newsroom is really like. I’ve been full-time now for over five months and it’s definitely not easy.

When I found out that I was covering four towns, I never expected how demanding it would really be. We have residents from each and every one of our towns that wants the paper and wants to read the news in THEIR town. It’s a responsibility that I realized very quickly. I take it very seriously. With only three full-timers we are, sometimes, rushing around, on the brink of having too much to do. We make it work, though, and our freelancers save our butts all the time. (God bless freelancers)

There is a certain level of pressure from working in a newsroom. It’s exciting, yes, but sometimes it gets really “hairy” in there. Working at The Recorder at CCSU, we didn’t really have a deadline. We always said we did, but we all broke it a million times. At the Chronicle, being a morning paper, has a set deadline and, trust me, you don’t want to have the story that is making the editors pull their hair out with deadline coming up. It’s an exciting pressure, to me. It makes you work fast, and smart, but keeps you on your toes. You cannot idly sit by and look busy. You either finish your two stories or you don’t. It’s that simple. Some people can have a hard time doing it. It’s not easy to get used to writing two stories, of usually varying lengths, in about three hours. Once you’ve “mastered” it, it’s only uphill from there. It takes practice, practice and more practice.

Also, I’ve learned very quickly that there is a level of professionalism that needs to be followed. You are representing your paper, at all times. It doesn’t matter where you are or what you are doing. You’re actions are the actions of the paper. I realize that sounds quite extreme, but the newspaper’s entire credibility is on your shoulders. At first, I didn’t think of it that way, but you have to. You can’t do anything to jeopardize that. Again, it’s that simple. You have to be aware of the things that you are doing and realize that you are responsible for those actions. And you can’t blame anyone, but yourself.
-This post will be one of many on the realities of working in a newsroom.-

 

Jonathan

3 Responses to The Realities of Working in a Newsroom

  1. ashleyfoy says:

    Being a journalist is a really difficult and respectable job that is underpaid and not acknowledged often enough. Keep up the hard work, it will definitely pay off! By the way, I agree with this whole blog!

  2. Pingback: Working in a Newsroom Part 2 « Just Starting Out

Leave a Reply

