Oops!

Well, it has sure been a long time.

I don’t really have any excuses for it. I should have been blogging. I missed it. Actually, it helps keep me sane.

The last month-and-a-half have been pretty good. The only complaint I have is that I have been buying lunch instead of making it. I really need to stop doing that.

Everyone at the office is great. We all get along well and I really think I fit in well here.

I have had some problems with some of my stories lately, but I’m not sure why. They haven’t been easy “topics,” but I shouldn’t be asked really simple questions that should have been in the stories already. That’s been the most frustrating part. I don’t know what it is. I wrote about a notice to sue, a recycling contract and a blight ordinance, among other things. None of those should have really thrown me for any loops, but they did.

I can’t use the excuse that I’m just out of school because my expectations on myself are much higher than that. I know I can do better and I have to prove it. Next week,  I am going to buckle down and get everything top notch for Mike. He deserves it. I don’t like throwing the news desk off each morning. It stresses everyone one out and wastes a lot of time.

The paper is in the middle of budget season and it’s been a rush. We all have so many stories to write each morning. It’s pretty nice actually. I don’t mind writing budget stories. They are fun and really easy. I feel like I actually know what I am doing now. I am still learning, though.

It’s Easter weekend and my brother is home. It’s actually pretty nice. He fell asleep while we were watching Robin Hood (Crowe’s version). I really missed him, even though, I know he is going to make a mess of the house.

Over the last month, or so, I have really picked up on my speed writing in the mornings. I can write two, 12-inch stories in under two hours. Of course, it depends on if I am writing a meeting story from the night before or if I’m calling people in the morning. Having to call people in the morning is tough. Usually, it all works out for us, but sometimes people are just busy.

I am still going to a lot of meetings. I find them fun and I don’t really like following up on meetings the next day. It gives the story more room for error and if you can’t get quotes, you don’t really have a story. Plus, going to meetings keeps town officials on their toes and let’s them know that I’m not just winging my stories. I’m putting my time in, just like they are.

My iPhone 3GS is starting to really bother me. I have treated that phone like crap for too long and now it hates me. The phone drops calls, is really slow and I want a new one. I have no problem paying for a new one, but I’m not sure how long I’ve had this one. I am thinking about going to AT&T this weekend and finding that out and seeing how much an iPhone 4 (not a S) is. My brother has one and loves it.

Next week already seems promising.

I will post more often, I promise.

-Jonathan

Leave a Reply

