Oh…Okay

I’m tired today. I didn’t go to bed until late.

Other than me being tired, which isn’t very new, everything else went great. My skateboard park story (Area for beginners eyed at skate park) is in, but my dispatch story didn’t run today. Mike had some questions on it that I had to check with Heather on. The things he had questions on I had no idea on because I don’t cover the town. She really helped me a lot today.

I also started a story that I am going to finish tomorrow morning on one of my town’s. I wanted to get a hold of a superintendent, but they never called me back. I am going to try again tomorrow because I really want to know what they think about what I am writing about. It’s not just about the quotes for this story. I want to know what they have to say and what they are thinking. Now that I have my beat I want to talk to as many people as I can for each story. I just have to remember to keep my story length under control.

One thing I need to work on is giving my stories “the next step.” Mike has told time and time again to add that aspect in, but I keep forgetting. The whole point of writing these hyper-local stories is to let people know what is going on. If I don’t tell them what the next step is the story is pointless. I need to make more of an effort to remember to put that in because that’s one of Mike’s staples for a story. To be sure, I made a sticky note of it and put it on my PC.

I got yelled at today. I was the first time in my four weeks, but it won’t be the last. I can guarantee that. Not by my boss or a coworker, but by a town official. I’ll leave it at that.

I’m covering a meeting tomorrow so, tonight I can kind of take it easy. I need to make sure I sleep. I really need to make that a focus and get on a schedule.

Also, I found out that I will be covering the night shift next Friday with Mike. I am pretty excited for that. Getting to sleep in and write news all night? Count me in.

-Jon

Leave a Reply

