Three today

Today was great.

Also how do you think these business cards look? Yes, they are boring.

Last night I covered a town council subcommittee meeting and literally got three stories out of it. I emailed Mike last night telling him that I was really thinking we should have all three stories in the paper.

When I got in this morning, Mike said yes. I gave him the synopsis for each and he was sold. Thankfully, I didn’t have to call too many people, and everything worked out quite nicely.

I finished with a lot of time before deadline and I felt good. Today’s paper is really stacked with news and I can’t wait to see it.

I wasn’t really sure if Mike was going to want all three stories, but I was more than happy to write them all. I had written the longest one last night, just in case.

I actually got some sleep last night. I went to fell asleep at 12:30 a.m., and I think that may be a record for me in the last three weeks. With that said, I have yet to actually eat something today.

I need to complain about something.

My “news” reporter’s notebooks are giving me problems during meetings. Whenever I try to “flip” to the next page the tabs that keep it all together rip. I have no idea why it’s happening, but it’s distracting for me, the audience and for whoever is in front of me. I even had a sheet actually get ripped so bad it fell off and I had to put it in my pocket.

This isn’t the biggest problem in the world, but when you have people discussing something for a story that you want quotes for it’s very hard to keep up when you are taking a whole minute to flip the page. It’s super annoying. Maybe I am doing something wrong, I don’t know.

Stay tuned for a bunch of clips coming later today.

Update (11:34 a.m.) I only see one story from what I wrote today in today’s paper. Mike is most likely holding the others for the weekend, which is great.

-Jon

Leave a Reply

