I am now Full-time

via The Chronicle

I’ve known for some time that I would be getting the full-time position, which will have me covering Coventry, Lebanon, Andover, and Franklin. I told some of my family and friends, but I’ve kept it quiet for the most part. Sitting here writing this now, I’m excited.

I am more than happy to take Sarah’s beat. The last couple of weeks working with her have been awesome. I know I’ve said that a thousand times, but I mean it each time. I will be the first to admit that I am still a newbie and have a million things left to learn. I am not perfect. My stories aren’t flawless and my leads still need work. The writing that I am doing now is new to me. Budget stories aren’t my expertise yet, but they will be with time.

I have already learned so much and I’m more than willing to do whatever Mike wants me to do. I know budget stories aren’t the most entertaining to read, but I need to learn how to write them. There’s going to be a lot of moving parts and I have to be on point with this. I don’t like messing up as it is. This “promotion” is going to be tough. That’s an understatement.

I’m going to be covering four towns. They aren’t the biggest of towns, by any means. From what I have read so far in The Chronicle they each have a lot going on. I am pretty scared. And I am a bit worried. If Mike thinks that I am ready for this, then I don’t want to let him down or the paper.

Wish me luck.

-Jon

4 Responses to I am now Full-time

  1. Congrats! I’ll be moving up to full-time hours in February and I cannot wait. So happy to hear this news for you. 🙂

Leave a Reply

