Getting Busy

I am going to be covering a meeting tonight at the Windham Town Hall for a garage that is being built for the area. Should be pretty quick and I really doubt that a lot of people will be going. Mike said that he was pretty sure that no one would be there. I find that kind of helpful because, that way, I can get access to who I need to talk to much easier. Though, I have to admit it would be nice to have people at these meetings that actually are either really upset or happy about what’s going on. That way it doesn’t feel like it’s just reporters and government. I don’t know.

I walked in this morning and the only thing on my desk was my new email address, which is jonathans@thechronicle.com. That was a great feeling. I still have yet to figure out if I can forward those emails to my gmail account, but I got it synced up to my phone just fine. I guess it’s official now.

Mike came over about 10 minutes later and asked me what I was working on. I told him that I needed to send him the Preston feature and all I had to do to finish that was reread it again. He said he had forgotten about the feature, but knew he had a picture for it. He was pretty excited when I told him that. I hope he likes it.

Five minutes after that I got a huge stack of stories from Mike on lots of different topics and possibly one or two features down the road.

While waiting for people to call me back on those, I talked to Sarah, the reporter that is leaving soon, about the towns that I will be covering soon. We mostly talked about Coventry and what’s going on with the farmer’s market there. She told me what to focus on and a little bit about what to expect. It shouldn’t be too bad. I’m nervous about it, but it’s happening in a few weeks or so.

Michelle also gave me a story list for the “new reporter” that will be taking Sarah’s spot. That was encouraging. She has been great, too. I’m glad that they are so willing to help because I am definitely going to be asking a ton of questions as I go along. Sarah gave me her “card” so that I could get in touch with her easily. I’ve only known them for a couple weeks and they really have taken me under their wing in a way.

I know the towns that I will be covering, but I don’t know every little thing going on. I know it won’t be easy taking over four towns. It doesn’t matter how small they are, either. I read our paper, but I need to start looking through previous stories and getting even more background on what is going on. Some of the things happening now are really detailed. I have to be on my toes.

I was able to finish one of those stories Mike gave me today. I still have to write one before the weekend, but I can do that tomorrow morning.

Also, I found out that I will be going to a meeting tomorrow night as well. I don’t want to say too much about it, but it will be fun. That meeting should have a bunch of residents there. I know that will help my story.

I don’t think Mike was able to check out my feature today. I will ask him about it tomorrow though. I’m glad that it’s over, but I think I might be more nervous now.

-Jon

Leave a Reply

