It Hasn’t Hit Me Yet

via ccsu.edu

My Mom and I talk a lot. She asked me the other day what it felt like to be done with school, now that I’ve been working for the last couple of weeks.  I took the time to actually think up a thoughtful response. Not that this is going to make any sense.

I feel like I’m on winter break. I know that may sound bad, but let me explain. It still is winter break, though, CCSU starts up this Wednesday. I think my body feels like I am going back to school. In the back of my mind I am anticipating it. I can’t explain why. This isn’t limbo for me because I am done. I’ve graduated. My body isn’t recognizing that. I have a job now. I’m on my way to becoming a pro-journo now. Higher education for me is in the rear-view mirror.

Graduating and working the last three weeks still hasn’t hit me yet. I don’t know when it will. I still have CCSU and its stories on my mind. I would still write for The Recorder.

This is a really weird feeling. I wasn’t expecting to be like this right now. I thought that I would be able to just move on and be okay with it. Boy, was I wrong. I wish I could say how long that this is going to last.

This probably isn’t something even worth writing about. And I should have probably have spent this time working on that feature that I need to write.

It’s just that this is really frustrating for me. I can’t even explain why it’s frustrating.

-Jon

2 Responses to It Hasn’t Hit Me Yet

  1. I think I told you how I felt when I graduated, although it might be a bit different finishing in the winter versus finishing in May. I had post-Recorder depression syndrome come September! Takes awhile to find your new groove.

    • I really didn’t think this would last so long. I’m glad I’m working, but being in school for 99% of my life messed up my head or something.

      Definitely going to miss The Recorder. (writing this comment from the Recorder office though 🙂 )

      Just want it to end now.

      -Jon

Leave a Reply

