Make the Call

via smallbiztechnology.com

 

It dawned on me today that I relied too heavily on e-mail when I was at The Recorder during my time at CCSU. I can’t remember what made me think that.

When I was at CCSU, I used to email sources on Monday nights after our big meeting and wait for them to get back to me. I thought it was the greatest system in the world. If they hadn’t gotten back to me by Thursday, I would email them again. I would rarely pick up the phone and call them.

I can redeem myself by saying that towards the end of my last semester I would go straight to their office and schedule a meeting with them. I still wasn’t picking up the phone and calling anyone. I was still rarely doing phone interviews. Most of the interviews I was doing were face-to-face.

I bring all of this up now because most of the stories that I am doing now are over the phone. I’ve found out, rather quickly, that I cannot hesitate when it comes to stories, especially when they are on deadline. If I was to rely on email correspondence to do the stories that I am working on, I would have none of them finished. For example, just read about my first day. I can’t even imagine how pissed Mike would have been if I told him that I was waiting for people to email me back.

I didn’t even think twice about not emailing people. It’s too slow, unreliable and, from what I’ve noticed, downright lazy. I emailed a source on Wednesday for a story that I am doing on the Special Olympics Swim Meet in March. They said that they would have gotten back to me by Friday. It’s currently 9:18 p.m. on Thursday night. Had I not called other sources I wouldn’t have that story pretty much done at this point.

Maybe it’s not laziness, I don’t know. Making phone calls isn’t one of the funnest things to do, but it’s quick and if they don’t pick up you can always leave a message. Technology has grown so much, but you could argue that email has sort of become the USPS of electronic communication. Call me crazy, but that’s how I see it.

We all have email addresses, but we don’t use them as much as we think we do. The telephone is just the most direct way to get ahold of someone.

When in doubt, just make the call. Simple as that.

 

-Jon

 

 

Leave a Reply

