The Dreaded Correction

I’ve had one correction that has stuck with me since I started in journalism.

In the summer of 2009, I was an intern at the Journal Inquirer in Manchester, CT. If I remember correctly it was my second week. My editor at the time, Nancy Thompson, was going to take a long weekend and gave me a couple of stories to write so that she made sure that I had something to do.

One of those stories was about a family owned camera shop on Main Street in Manchester. The family was closing down the store after over 50 years in the business. Bigger companies had forced them out doing what they loved. It was a tough story to write. The daughter that I spoke with was so grateful for me wanting to talk to her and I was just glad that I could bring attention to a family that had worked so hard for so long.

I don’t remember how long it took me to write the story, but it came out great. It was over 18 inches and I was really proud of what I had written. I finished it on Friday and I think it ran either over the weekend or that Monday. What I do remember is coming in the day after it ran and seeing a note on my desk that read, “You got the name wrong,” with the correction that they were going to print.

At first, I didn’t believe it. There was no way I could have made that mistake. No way. Panic.

Before she left, Nancy had given me the name of the shop and I had never double-checked it. I didn’t even think to. I know that I’m supposed to double and triple check everything, especially the vitals of the story, but that time I didn’t.

That was a bad day. I really didn’t know what to think or what to do. I felt terrible. The other reporters in the newsroom were really great about it. They tried to make me feel better and I appreciated that. Everyone makes mistakes, I guess. Yeah, that’s on my record now, but I felt terrible for the family. A correction isn’t going to make that situation any better. The worst part of it was that the daughter wanted copies of the story. So, I had to cut out my “wrong” story and mail it to her. I was beyond embarrassed. I felt like I let Nancy down and the whole paper.

When Nancy got back she already knew what happened. She apologized profusely for giving me the name wrong. I told her it wasn’t her fault and that I was solely to blame for it. I should have checked. That still bothers me today.

Since then, I’ve been diligent with making sure everything I say in my writing is accurate and true. I think I’ve done a good job of that. I can ask myself a million “What Ifs,” but that will get me nowhere.

I learned a lot from that summer, but that story is the one that really stuck out to me. When you are in school and you are learning about the profession, you get fed up with how much the professors are hounding you about the vitals of the story. It seems they say the same things over and over again. After awhile, you can take it for granted. In school, you don’t really know about the consequences. In school it’s real, but it isn’t.

Getting a lower grade because you spelled something wrong is much different than having 35,000 people see that you spelled the name wrong.

With my first week under my belt, I guess you could say that I am on high alert. I don’t like messing up and I never will. I don’t want to let my boss down or the paper. I know that people make mistakes, but, as I have found, in journalism, it’s never easy.

We have to constantly check and double check things. It’s just what we have to do. It takes a second to make a mistake, but it’ll stay with you.

So far, so good.

-Jon

3 Responses to The Dreaded Correction

  1. Pingback: Mistakes Aren’t Easy | Just Starting Out

  2. How Very Long Does It Consider To Reduce 80 Lbs
    The Samsung Chromebook (XE303C12) really requires off. With its unbeatable
    value of 281 US dollars, it will surely entice curious potential buyers.
    Apart from that, its ARM processor provides spunky general
    performance with out the will need to sacrifice its battery daily life.
    This Chromebook is some thing that we have preferred Google to provide a
    lengthy time back. With its clamshell and bodily keyboard design, it is a portable and affordable
    way of having on line with practically nothing obtaining in your way.

    Maybe the only downside of this item is its offline
    entry and its confined storage.
    If you want to training more aerobically or resistance coaching, slice
    out images that encourage you. They can be of a person with a toned physique, another person doing exercises,
    climbing, walking or operating, or any other photographs inspiring to you.

    Do not let it be the alpha puppy. It may well start off providing you
    classes if it senses your a pushover. Give it rough adore, so that points do not
    get out of management. Being aware of that to get adore is to be in very good conduct will make it much more disciplined.
    Supplying rewards and words of kindness for obeying instructions
    will make it willing to prepare. Hardly ever hit a pet dog – respect it and it will respect
    you. Have it work out each day. It has been endowed with hundreds of strength and fantastic stamina.
    Preserving that locked up inside will make it cranky.
    Acquire it out on very long walks or jogs.
    Julia Bell eating plan made to assistance persons prevail over obesity university
    student. Obesity is the variety one wellbeing dilemma in the 20-initial century.
    Study how to reside a healthier life to sustain
    a healthful fat and deficiency of actual physical activity
    all through your weight loss web site.
    This will shock quite a few, but if you selected to drop ten I thought about this quick by means of crash eating
    plan, a ton of the rapidly excess weight reduction that takes place in
    the course of crash weight loss plans is a decline of fluids alternatively than accumulated excess fat.
    In other terms, most of that surplus fats is however right the place it was!

    Make your applying method easy to easier by choosing on-line lender.
    On the net lenders acquire a lot less than a day in depositing the finance and so, you
    can borrow revenue quickly. There is no tough obligation held from the loan companies
    and that’s why, uncomplicated method is generally completely ready to help you promptly. So, you should not give up your hope as you can set up ample funds to cater your needs. Even though interest charge is often a greater situation, you must spend consideration to it and if you do a comparison job, you would absolutely get it very affordable and thus, everything would operate in your favor and you would be capable to make daily life interesting and much better!
    Energy: You have a section to history your approximate every day caloric consumption. Not to be precise, as it would be comprehensive bore with a exact calculation. For example, if you are a daily calorie intake of 1500 (common is about 2600), you can write that down, but usually pay back attention to if you might be absent from indulging in high calorie snacks or fried foodstuff, etcetera. Monitoring is specifically the items that guide to the reduction of the total of fat to reduce. Over time you will recognize your every day calorie prerequisite, which you can then use to keep your target weight the moment you reach it.
    Added excess weight is a globally disadvantage that has been significant problem of the Earth Perfectly becoming Organization (WHO). Based mostly on the WHO, about 1 billion grown ups throughout the world are obese, and about three hundred million of them are suffering from being overweight. Remaining obese and overweight may well result in significant properly getting challenges like diabetic issues, hypertension and cancer. Related Site

  3. Pingback: The Next Step and a New Year | Just Starting Out

Leave a Reply

