Learning About the Job

I think it’s hard to know what journalism is really about unless you see the affect it  has on people.

The story I wrote on Wednesday about the toy drive in need of 200 presents for today’s celebration really put it in perspective. I’ve been thinking about this all day. Journalists, essentially, help people. Three of the stories that I wrote this week were about people in the community that needed help. It’s not just about money. It’s about having the support from the people around you. This week that became very profound to me.

The Director of Human Services Mary DeMarco emailed me on Thursday to thank me for writing that story. I obviously said she was welcome and that it was not a problem. I didn’t think twice about it, until today when I was at the celebration.

To see that community pull itself together and do something that special was amazing and it was really something to be a part of it. I’m glad that the story was able to generate enough interest for people to donate money and toys.

Yes, journalists are watchdogs and protectors of free speech, but I’ve learned this week that we can spread word of something vital to a community. It’s more than what I thought it was going to be. People seem to need a call to do something sometimes, which is fine because I have no problem writing those stories.

My second clip, the one about the No Freeze center, was for a call of action. The photographer who took the picture thanked me today. He said that he was surprised that I had gotten the story in that quickly. I asked him how long he had the picture for and he said he had just taken it the night before I wrote the story. I had no idea. I told him I called the director and just talked to him yesterday morning when Mike told me he wanted the story. He told me I did a really good job. That made me feel really good. I know photographers take their work seriously, so when he said that to me it really hit home.

This week was great. I never expected to have done that much work in such a short amount of time. It was nice that Mike trusted me with those stories right off the bat. That caught me by surprise. I didn’t let him down.

I just hope that I can get copies of Saturday’s paper!

-Jon

2 Responses to Learning About the Job

  1. Good for you! It sounds like your career gives you a lot of purpose. What else could you ask for?

    -MTO

Leave a Reply

