Day 2- A Great Day

Got up a little bit later than I would have liked this morning, but I got to work on time today. People in the morning don’t seem to want to get to work. It’s so cold out that I figured that they would drive faster. That is proving not to be the case.

I get into work, sit down, and Mike asks me what I am working on for today. I told him that I still had to finish what he had given me yesterday. He proceeded to tell me to stop doing all of that and focus on the story that you see here (Second Clip). It was an easy story. I didn’t have to wait as long for people to call me back. The director of the No Freeze center talked to me for a half hour. It’s a really important story and I think the mayor realized that when I called him.

I was able to finish that before 9:30 a.m. and got the other two done before noon. Two were 20 inches and the third was around 14. It was a really productive day. I didn’t have any big complaints besides the fact that my computer is slower than everything.

Mike told me that I did a “good job” and I think I impressed him with getting everything he asked for done. The reporters, in the news section, had to finish all of their stories today for tomorrow’s paper  because the deadline for Friday is 9:30 a.m. A lot of the staff are going to a funeral tomorrow and they changed the deadline so people could attend. I think I get to sleep in  because I won’t have anything to write. Being that early in the morning, it would be nearly impossible to start a story tomorrow morning and expect to finish it. Town officials aren’t the easiest to get a hold of before 9:30 a.m. sometimes.

One funny thing that happened today was that I said “IDK IF YOU WANT THIS QUOTE” in front of a quote from Governor Malloy on a story for STEAP grants for towns that the Chronicle covers. The quote from Malloy was from a press release and I wasn’t sure if I should use it for the story. I put that in front of the quote so that Mike would know that I wasn’t exactly sure if he wanted it in the story. While editing the story, Mike asked me what “IDK” stood for. I thought he was kidding and everyone seemed to stop what they were doing as soon as he asked me that. One of the other reporters told him and I asked him if he was joking. He gave me one of those “Don’t even think about it” looks and that was that. He ended up laughing when it was all said and done. Mike said next time just tell him what I’m thinking or spell it out. It was funnier in person.

Tomorrow, I am covering the Three Kings Day event at ECSU. Over 200 families have signed up for their kids to receive presents. Last year, Mike said that a woman tried to get in to get presents for her kids, but hadn’t signed up for it. He was pretty excited about the story. It’ll be my first “live” event. There will be a language barrier to combat, but I think I’m pretty good with Spanish. We will find out, though.

I am pretty nervous. I can’t really pinpoint a reason why, but the nerves are definitely kicking in. Maybe sleeping in will help me out tomorrow.

-Jon

One Response to Day 2- A Great Day

  1. Pingback: Front Page Choices Vol. 1 « Just Starting Out

Leave a Reply

