Twitter Twitter Twitter

Twitter has grown into pretty much everything that we do and know. It has advertisements, news and spam. Really annoying spam.  It’s just too fast. News is changing and newspapers are adapting. Not all newspapers, but many are. Hundreds of people have already said all of this, but it’s true.  Twitter is single-handedly changing the world’s news. It doesn’t have the following like Facebook, but it doesn’t need to.

It’s quick. It’s 140 characters.  It’s nothing like reading an article and it’s nothing like holding a paper. When you are on twitter you see anything and everything. You are able to choose what you want to see. You can say almost anything you want to, but people are starting to get in trouble for being too honest. Every smartphone now has an app for it and it keeps getting more and more popular.

On Twitter, this past year had us learning about the Bin Laden raid, the resignation of Hosni Mubarak, the shooting of Gabrielle Giffords and the Japanese earthquake and tsunami. The list goes on. I can’t even begin to list what I saw on Twitter before I saw it on TV or read it online. For me, it’s an awesome feeling knowing the news before the world knows about it.  Reporters are updating Twitter before their stories sometimes. Breaking news now has a whole new meaning. (That’s another post) It’s not longer before deadline. It’s whenever the news happens. The second it happens.

I have been tweeting for over 667 days. Now, I’ve tweeted a lot. My friends that actually follow me tease me about how much I tweet. I’m obsessed, even addicted to it. I went a month over the summer without tweeting. It was weird. I rely on Twitter for my news and information. It follows me everywhere I go on my iPhone.

I noticed The Chronicle doesn’t have a Twitter feed. I think that may be changing soon. I really want to see if they will consider starting one up. First, they would need to start a Facebook, but Twitter comes right after that. It would be easy to start up. The hard part with that comes with keeping it up and maintaining a constant presence on both platforms. Thankfully, The Chronicle is hyper-local so we would definitely have a niche that isn’t tapped yet. The Hartford Courant doesn’t really cover the area too in-depth and the Journal Inquirer needs to work on their Twitter feed. I think it would be a win-win for The Chronicle. As with any newspaper, getting people to come to our sites is the biggest problem. Just short of giving something away, you can’t make people want to read the paper.

-Jon

4 Responses to Twitter Twitter Twitter

  1. surexpress says:

    Twitter also revolutionized the speed of disseminating news across the globe.

Leave a Reply

