Why The Chronicle?

I think a lot of people are going to ask me why I took a part-time job over the full-time job. Of course, I am going to say that I made the right choice for me and that I think this Willimantic will be the right fit.

That’s the short answer.

The long answer isn’t complicated, though.

The Bristol Press is a great paper. I’m not even sure I was going to get that job, but from the phone interview and through emails I think that that I was definitely being considered. I don’t know Bristol very well and the commute would have been a pain in the ass. Not that that is an excuse. I think I could have done well in Bristol and I will not say that I would never work there. The thing is that, I know Willimantic and all of the smaller towns around it (Coventry, Lebanon, Hebron, Windham and there more). My mom worked at a car dealership next door to The Chronicle for some time and, frankly, I had no idea the paper was even there.

At my interview with my new boss, Mike Lemanski, I told him that I know Coventry, thanks to my time in the summer of 2009 at the Journal Inquirer. Immediately after I told him that, he said that the part-time person would be covering Coventry. That happenstance just seemed to make sense to me.

Mike told me that there is a full-time position that will be available in February, but added that I am not guaranteed that spot, which is completely understandable. I figured that the best chance for me to do well and learn more would be in Willimantic. Mike is a faculty member at UConn and even told me that he is the “teaching type.” What more could I ask for?

Bristol, though, was full-time right off the bat. I know I could have handled it. I know there would have been stories to write and I know that the staff there would have been just as awesome as Mike and the others. When I walked into The Chronicle, it just felt like home. I know that sounds weird, but let me try to explain.

Compare it to when you are applying to college and you finally find that one school that you just HAVE to go to. You’re comfy there. You can see yourself living there. The people are nice and everything just clicks. It was like that for me in Willimantic. The commute is all back roads. It’s a small building with not a lot of people. It’ll be a small staff and I know that I’ll have fun working there.

My mom and I had a talk about it. The consensus was overwhelming.

-Jon

4 Responses to Why The Chronicle?

  1. I’m glad you are comfortable with your decision, Jon! A nice, small working environment will be great for you, since you are so social and you’ll be able to form great relationships like you did at The Recorder! If I were you, I wouldn’t care about the commute; when I eventually get a job when I graduate the commute will be the last on my list of worries.

    Proud of you!

    -Kassondra

  2. Pingback: I was Never Good at Math « Just Starting Out

  3. Pingback: The Next Step and a New Year | Just Starting Out

Leave a Reply

