Why I said “No” to Grad School

Happy Holidays- Where is the snow?

I graduated high school in 2007 and I know that I’ve been in college way too long. I “should have” graduated in May, but needed another semester thanks to transferring twice during my college experience. I want out.

My thinking is to get the experience I can get now. I’m 22 and when I need my master’s I’ll go and get it. Right now, I don’t think that I could do it for two reasons: money and no more patience. It’s nothing against higher education, but I don’t think I could do another year, never mind two more years, getting another degree. Don’t think that I’m lazy, but I’d like start making real money, get a new car (my current “truck” is older than I am and falling apart faster than I can type) and learn.

I know what I’m doing, but as my former “boss,” Nicholas Proch always said, “We are always learning.” I also know that I have a lot more to learn. I don’t think that I could possibly understand now how much more I have to learn about journalism.

Going through my journo career people were neither for it or against it. Professors didn’t seem to have real opinions about it.  I knew that I didn’t need one to get a journo job, so why do it? Not one of the papers that I applied to asked for a master’s. One day that may change, but right now I think starting out is the best thing for me.

I don’t have the money. I think that’s pretty straight forward. I already owe a lot of money as it is. Getting my master’s will have to wait.

I’m not opposed to it because I know that I will need one in the future, of that I’m sure. Everyone will. I think I just need to get out of higher education and do my own thing. As of right now, I think I can go back to school. I don’t think that will change. We will have to wait and see. When I need one I don’t think that I will have a choice. I’ll just have to do it.

Side note: Just finished the first season of “The Walking Dead” and it was perfect. No complaints. No changes. Loved all of it. I need the second season ASAP. Overall, I was really impressed with it and how the characters changed and adapted over the season to everything that happened to them.

Oh and it’s 2:56 a.m.

-Jon

Leave a Reply

